Web Analytics

Bright Area Business Association

Minutes for December 9, 2016


The meeting was called to order by President Greg Gronwall with the Pledge of Allegiance.  A delicious Holiday breakfast was prepared and served by Betty and Patsy Grubbs.  There was a special thank you and acknowledgement of their catering and retirement.

Guest speaker Jason Eckhoff was introduced by Celeste Calvitto.  Jason is the Chief of Bright Volunteer Fire and EMS.  He has been a Fire/EMS public servant for 13 years.  Jason spoke of the departments accomplishments of 2016 and their goals for 2017 including the purchase of an aerial ladder truck.  Jason also mentioned that the Auxiliary wants to be more active in the planning and preparation of the BABA golf outing.   Jason was presented with a check for $1000 from BABA as an (end of year) donation.

Celeste introduced Tamara Zoller and made the announcement Tamara will become the new owner of The Beacon.  Tamara has been working with Celeste for a while and is very familiar with the process and business of owning a newspaper. She will be representing The Beacon beginning 2017.  Celeste is starting a consulting business called Calcomindiana.

Everyone present introduced themselves and their business in turn.    Dan Cross (Treasurer) reported a current balance of $4049 in checking.  This balance is after (end of year) donations were given to Bright Fire & EMS, North Dearborn Pantry and Bright Lions at $1000 each.  Other committee reports were by Cari Vuko (Membership) who passed out invoices for dues and Dan Hawkins (By-Laws) reported that the by-laws were ongoing.  Committee members Joni Helton, Bebe Kinnett, Les Finn, Jim Kinnett, Dan Cross and Dan Hawkins will be focusing on what is unique about BABA.  The By-laws will be posted on BABA website and comments should be emailed to Dan Hawkins before Dec. 31.  A vote to accept will be at the January meeting.

Greg Gronwall gave his goodbye to the group as outgoing President.  He is happy to be a part of how the group has grown its membership and especially the golf outing of which he chaired and gave many hours to make it successful.  Greg will be an active member of the association.

No old business to discuss.  New business includes election of officers for 2017.  Nominations were closed with one change from last month.    Jim Kinnett motioned that elections be by acclimation (2nd by Dan Cross) since no one was running opposed.  So moved.  Elected officers for 2017 are Bebe Kinnett-President, Lori Enright-Vice President, Wayne Leslie-Treasurer, Debby Stutz-Secretary.  Art Little made a motion to adjourn (2nd by Wayne Leslie).  So moved, meeting adjourned.  Submitted by Debby Stutz, Secretary.